Professional Development

Miracles In Sight employs a staff of dedicated professionals who work with hospitals, hospices, medical professionals and funeral homes in the areas that we serve.
 

Training the Experts

professional-development Miracles In Sight strives to educate the medical communities on eye donation procedures, legislation and other issues surrounding donation. Our professional development team conducts in-services and workshops for nurses, physicians, social workers, and all staff members who would benefit from education on eye donation.

If you would like to have someone from Miracles In Sight give a presentation about eye donation, or if you have any other educational needs pertaining to eye donation, please contact:

Bob Russ
Director of Communications & HR
Email: bruss@miraclesinsight.org
Call: 336.765.0932 ext. 1400

Professional Development Staff

Fred Jordan

Director of Development
fjordan@miraclesinsight.org

Wanda Bryant

Professional Development Specialist
wbryant@miraclesinsight.org

Tina Claussen

Professional Development Specialist
tclaussen@miraclesinsight.org

Meeky Powell

Professional Development Specialist
mpowell@miraclesinsight.org

Will Hasskamp

Professional Development Specialist
whasskamp@miraclesinsight.org 

Abriel Brown

Professional Development Specialist
abrown@miraclesinsight.org

Tracy Thorne

Professional Development Specialist
tthorne@miraclesinsight.org

Research

Miracles In Sight provides ocular tissue to assist researchers in gaining a better understanding, evaluating possible treatments, and hopefully finding cures for a wide array of eye conditions and diseases such as:
  1. Glaucoma
  2. Macular Degeneration
  3. Retinal Disorders (Diabetic Retinopathy)
  4. Retinitis Pigmentosa (RP)

Some of this donated tissue also allows surgeons to practice and perfect operating techniques and procedures for common and new age eye surgeries such as:
  1. Cataracts excision and lens implantation
  2. Corneal transplant
  3. Descemet’s Stripping Endothelial Keratoplasty
  4. Descemet’s Membrane Endothelial Keratoplasty
  5. LASIK
  6. Retinal surgeries

Tributes
  • I feel honored that God made that sassy, smart, funny and compassionate girl my sister. I am a better person because of it. I know without a doubt that she would be so happy that her eyes were able to help you.

    Heather F.

  • She had a very generous spirit and each of our lives was made better by being a part of her life and even by being a part of her death. And we were very thankful for the way the North Carolina Eye Bank handled the arrangements and that they exist to make these donations possible.

    Mary M.